Founded 1871

Fall 2016 & Spring 2017 Lecture Series

Sponsored by The Policy Studies Organization
In Cooperation with the American Public University
The Policy studies OrganizationAmerican Public University

PSW 2379
Friday, May 12th at 7:45 p.m.

The 86th Joseph Henry Lecture

Exoplanets and the Search for Life

An Exploration in Four Lectures

  • Exoplanets Header


Mark Clampin
Deputy Director, Sciences & Exploration Directorate
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

A Universe of Exoplanets - The Discovery of Habitable Worlds

Debra Fischer
Professor of Astronomy
Yale University

Exploring the TRAPPIST System  with Hubble and the JWST

Hannah Wakeford
NASA postdoctoral Fellow
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

"Are we alone?" - Turning Speculation into Science and Testable Hypotheses

Shawn Domagal Goldman
Research Space Scientist
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Finding Earth 2.0 - Extraordinary Tools to Expand the Search Space

Aki Roberge
Research Astrophysicist
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

For more information about this upcoming lecture...

Exoplanet Speakers




The Lectures, which are the centerpiece of all Philosophical Society of Washington meetings, are selected to appeal to those with a general interest in science and do not require a specialized knowledge of the subject. They always contain information that is current, explanations that are understandable and a few controversial issues to be challenged by a critical listener. The series is designed as much as possible to include a wide range of disciplines.

The meetings are open to the public, free, and no reservations are required. Dress is informal. Meetings are followed by lively conversation. All must exit the Cosmos Club at 10:30 p.m. Conversations are continued at another location. Please note, there is no parking at the Cosmos Club.

Meeting Location

The John Wesley Powell Auditorium is adjacent to the Cosmos Club, 2170 Florida Avenue NW, Washington DC 20008. Entrance is through the club gate, the first right-hand entrance on Florida Avenue north of the intersection with Massachusetts Avenue NW. The auditorium entrance is to the left of the gate.

The Cosmos Club is within walking distance of the DuPont Circle Metro stop (Q Street exit), the Connecticut Avenue bus routes (L2, L4), and the Massachusetts Avenue bus routes (N2, N4).


Title Name
President Larry S. Millstein
Treasurer John Ingersoll
Program Chair Larry S. Millstein
Membership Chair James Garay Heelan
Corresponding Secretary Robin Taylor